CommunityBrowse groupsBlogEtiquetteInvite Your friendsSuccess Stories


Does bread contain dairy?

curious, thanks.

Wed. Feb 28, 12:51pm

Add comment  
sometimes. depends on the recipe.

Wednesday, February 28, 2007, 1:08 PM

Add comment
Things like sandwich bread and baguettes and bagels - no. But there are a few special kinds that contain milk or butter. There's usually some indication of that somewhere on the package other than in the list of ingredients, like "butter-topped Homepride" (drawing on an old memory, might have it wrong).

Wednesday, February 28, 2007, 1:28 PM

Add comment
Actually, the above post is not entirely correct. Sandwich breads contain whey, which is dairy. Almost all bread does contain a dairy derivative.

Wednesday, February 28, 2007, 1:35 PM

Add comment
From 1:28 - ah, so that's where the bit of protein in bread comes from. Thanks!

Wednesday, February 28, 2007, 1:38 PM

Add comment
What? Grains have proteins of their own, you know.

Wednesday, February 28, 2007, 2:24 PM

Add comment
as the 1:35 poster pointed out, most commercially produced breads contain whey (a dairy element, think "little miss muffat... eating her curds and whey...") whey isn't gonna hurt you in any way, but how much commercial stuff has whey in it is a pain in the a** for those of us trying to be vegan.

Wednesday, February 28, 2007, 3:04 PM

Add comment
Whey and casinate (i think thats how you spell it) are both products of milk. Whey is the watery part of milk that remains after the formation of curds. Casinate is a milk derivative, both of these you'll probably find in most breads but neither of them really bothers people if they are lactose intolerant.

Thursday, March 01, 2007, 2:46 AM

Add comment
(Forgive my explanation as this is second hand knowledge.) Jewish people do not mix dairy and meat - so it's hard to make a corned beef sandwich and keep it kosher. If you are concerned about eating a bread without any dairy in it at all, find a bread with a kosher symbol (I believe it's a U in a circle.) This indicates that it is Kosher. A D in a circle is Kosher Dairy (I believe.) There is also a hebrew letter and the word "PARVE" this means that the food item contains neither meat nor dairy. (sorta like gender neutral) I hope someone who is a practicing Jew can clarify my post a little bit more.

Thursday, March 01, 2007, 9:34 AM

Add comment

Related Content:

How To Lose Weight- The Basics
Weight Watchers Points System
The Fat Smash Diet
The Eat To Live Diet
The Beck Diet Solution
How To Get The Motivation To Lose Weight


How To Be Successful Using PEERtrainer

How To Burn Fat
Online Weight Loss Support- How It Works
Does Green Tea Help You Lose Weight?
Tips On Using PEERtrainer
Visit The PEERtrainer Community
Diet and Fitness Resources


Weight Watchers Meetings
Learning To Inspire Others: You Already Are
Writing Down Your Daily Workouts
Spending Money On A Personal Trainer?
How I Became A Marathon Runner


Preventive Health

How To Prevent Injuries During Your Workout
Flu Season: Should You Take The Flu Shot?
Are You Really Ready To Start PEERtrainer?
Super Foods That Can Boost Your Energy
Reversing Disease Through Nutrition

New Diet and Fitness Articles:

Weight Watchers Points Plus
How To Adjust Your Body To Exercise
New: Weight Watchers Momentum Program
New: PEERtrainer Blog Archive
Review Of The New Weight Watchers Momentum Program

Weight Loss Motivation by Joshua Wayne:

Why Simple Goal Setting Is Not Enough
How To Delay Short Term Gratification
How To Stay Motivated
How To Exercise With A Busy Schedule

Real World Nutrition and Fitness Questions

Can Weight Lifting Help You Lose Weight?
Are Protein Drinks Safe?
Nutrition As Medicine?

Everyday Weight Loss Tips

How To Eat Healthy At A Party
How To Eat Out And Still Lose Weight
The Three Bite Rule
Tips On How To Stop A Binge